top of page
RECENT POST

My POV - Iterating Iterations

Team Summary:

Our team had a meeting to change our game based on the feedback from the greenlight presentations. Our game received a greenlight, however this still needed to be refined even more and to finalize our story, characters, core mechanic and art style. Progressively, our team has finalized the story, characters, monsters, some core mechanics and integrated sounds in our mechanics as well. However, our art style is still under progress.

My Contributions:

This week my contribution composed of presenting new ideas and bringing back old ideas that we considered two weeks ago. I brought new game concepts, because I thought our game may be too similar to Limbo. In our team meeting, I brought multiple sketches of different art styles, animation techniques, character/monster/environment looks and characteristics. Some of the sketched game ideas focused a different genre such as: Arcade in platformer or survival games. Some of my ideas were blended into our current game such as: the screaming and potato monsters. I also tried to push the idea of a secondary or NPC character (a flame character that emits from the protagonists’ candle). However, we decided that if our throwing mechanism is too hard to code we would incorporate the Wisp character.

My Reflection:

Overall, the team meeting was quite good and productive. Although we tend to get out of focus, I believe that it is our way of trying to be creative to conceptualize more ideas for our game. We are still trying to decide on our art-style because it seems to be difficult to choose a colour scheme/palette, drawing style, and animation style without being too similar to Limbo or any gray-scale games. We will fix this by playing around with art styles in vector, and to see which one we can reproduce with consistency as a team.

Tags:

Placeholder Games

bottom of page