top of page
RECENT POST

Forming Placeholder and Gettin' the Ball Rolling

Last week, the team got together to ideate mechanics, themes, dynamics, and narrative for the game. We had a productive day brainstorming gameplay mechanics, dynamics, art and more. We eventually settled on a side-scroller with elements of stealth, platforming, and puzzle solving. Over the week leading up to the green light critique we toiled away at the proposal, drawing, writing and ideating further to flesh out a document that would properly capture the teams thoughts, ideas and concerns. We did it though.

We need to go back to the drawing board after a great critique, and reiterate on art style choices and making the story more engrossing.

The entire team participated in the brainstorming, but I personally helped in clarifying ideas and mechanics for the proposal. I don't really have any sketches but thats because I m simply challenged when it comes to anything related to drawing. I played a role in cooking up some ideas for mechanics, and helping to flesh out the mechanics my teammates thought of (definitely solid mechanics to note). I flexed my linguistic talents by composing multiple paragraphs for different sections including the pitch, main overview and a few others. I definitely could not have done this without my team. There is no "I" in team.

The team has had a great start, but the biggest issue I believe we are facing is making the art style unique but feasible. We could also ideate further on mechanics and dynamics but those are fairly solid. We're going to have to come together to decide an art style we want that'll add that extra bit of uniqueness to the game.

Another potential pitfall that I believe we may have to overcome is balancing the focus on gameplay and an inviting plot line. If players aren't sympathizing with characters, well, thats definitely not good.

Placeholder Games

bottom of page